skip navigation

Phil Zona Sportsmanship Award

What is the Massachusetts Hockey Phil Zona Sportsmanship Award?

The Sportsmanship Awards has been established by Massachusetts Hockey to recognize and celebrate the principles of good sportsmanship epitomized by the spirit of respect, dignity, courtesy, responsible behavior and fair play, not only in sports, but in all of life’s endeavors.

How to Apply:

Information for the 2023 Sportsmanship Scholarship Application will be available on this Massachusetts Hockey website. The 2023 Sportsmanship Application will open on February 15, 2024 and due by April 10, 2024. 

Who is Eligible?

Any graduating senior in high school or expected freshman scheduled to enroll in an institute beyond high school who is a current or former ice hockey player who played for a Massachusetts Hockey registered youth/girls'/women's hockey program(s) for at least 5 seasons (does not need to be consecutive 5 seasons).


Application and all its supplemental documentation must be submitted no later than: April 10, 2024.

Application Criteria:

Sportsmanship Awards Two (2) Recommendations

Can be provided in one of three different ways:

  • Uploaded to the registration below
  • E-Mailed by the person writing the recommendation to Massachusetts Hockey at

Click on the below button to be directed to registration/application:

You will upload all the necessary documents online by clicking on the below registration/application button/link.

The Registration "Phil Zona Sportsmanship Award" is not currently available.


Mass Hockey Sportsmanship

Mass Hockey Sportsmanship

Sportsmanship Award Committee

Previous winners:

2023 Recipients

Luke Stehley (Plainville), Elizabeth Lombardo (Plymouth), Rylie Jones (N. Chelmsford), Cailyn McCarthy (Hanover), David Noel (Hampden)

2022 Recipients

Kevin Biernbaum (Norfolk), Faith Mancini (Shrewsbury), Liam Doherty (Winchester), Jack Perry (Waltham), Shea Donovan (Milton), Tatiana Stanton (Needham), Leo Laguerre (Ludlow), Anthony White (Melrose)

2021 Recipients

William Sullivan (Wellesley), Erin Murray (Hanover), Maeve Glavin (Norwood),Hannah Gerlach (Pembroke), Christopher Lee (Braintree)

2020 Recipients

Meghan Webb (Kingston), Matthew Leonard (Lynn), Jacob Vozikis (Burlington), Matthew Beniers (Hingham) & Colman Benson (Scituate)

2019 Recipients

Karly Aguirre (Waltham), Aaron Blanchard (Westfield), Abigail DaCosta (Milton), Christopher Perry (Pembroke) & Joseph Shanno (Natick)

2018 Recipients

Emma Doherty (Waltham), Kimberly Dunn (Quincy), Tim McCarthy (Beverly), Meghan McQuillen (Needham) & Alyssa Naumann (Norwood)

2017 Recipients

Marisa Doherty (Winchester), Ryan Johnson (Norwood) & Seamus Kelley (Norwood)

2016 Recipients

William “Billy” Allen (Hopkinton), Meg Gilbride (Braintree) & Daniel “Danny” Tighe, Jr. (Reading).

2015 Massachusetts Hockey Sportsmanship Award Winners

2015 Massachusetts Hockey Sportsmanship Awards recipients.

2013 Massachusetts Hockey Sportsmanship Award Winners

2013 Massachusetts Hockey Sportsmanship Awards recipients.

Massachusetts Hockey Sportsmanship Awards:

2023 Rylie Jones N. Chelmsford
2023 Elizabeth Lombardo Plymouth
2023 Cailyn McCarthy Hanover
2023 David Noel Hampden
2023 Luke Stehley Plainville
2022 Kevin Biernbaum Norfolk
2022 Liam Doherty Winchester
2022 Shea Donovan Milton
2022 Leo Laguerre Ludlow
2022 Faith Mancini Shrewsbury
2022 Jack Perry Waltham
2022 Tatiana Stanton Needham
2022 Anthony White Melrose
2021 Hannah Gerlach Pembroke
2021 Maeve Glavin Norwood
2021 Christopher Lee Braintree
2021 Erin Murray Hanover
2021 William Sullivan Wellesley
2020 Matthew Beniers Hingham
2020 Colman Benson Scituate
2020 Matthew Leonard Lynn
2020 Jacob Vozikis Burlington
2020 Meghan Webb Kingston
2019 Karly Aguirre Waltham
2019 Aaron Blanchard Westfield
2019 Abigail DaCosta Milton
2019 Christopher Perry Pembroke
2019 Joseph Shanno Natick
2018 Emma Doherty Winchester
2018 Kimberly Dunn Quincy
2018 Tim McCarthy Beverly
2018 Meghan McQuillen Needham
2018 Alyssa Naumann Norwood
2017 Marisa Doherty Winchester
2017 Ryan Johnson Norwood
2017 Seamus Kelly Norwood
2016 Daniel "Danny" Tighe, Jr. Reading
2016 Meg Gilbride Braintree
2016 William "Billy" Allen Hopkinton
2014 Siobhan Burke Westwood
2014 Emily Lissner Woburn
2014 Nicholas Watkins South Hadley
2013 Ashley Arnold Boxboro
2013 Matt Gentile Scituate
2013 Matt McIsaac Peabody
2012 Dennis Muldoon Weymouth
2012 Ally Healy Marblehead
2012 Kristan McCarthey Weymouth
2011 Kelley Coleman
2011 Sam Lawrence
2011 Jimmy Barry
2010 Connor Casidy
2010 Justine Hasson
2010 Christopher Kolek
2009 Justin Campana
2009 Stefani McGrath
2009 Paul Donato
2008 Timothy Gentile Scituate
2008 Thomas Goggins Pittsfield
2008 Ann-Marie Elvin Boston
2007 Nicholas Wiggins Cambridge
2007 Donald Cohen Bedford
2007 Mathew Sucharewicz Peabody
2006 Mark Rinaldi West Boylston
2006 Brian Phillips Longmeadow
2006 Jillian Doherty Wellesley
2005 Catherine Foley South Boston
2005 Lindsy Harrington Westford
2005 Dennis Lynch Milton
2004 Michael Foley
2004 Laura Burns
2004 Joseph Curtin
2003 Gregory Hanson Williamstown
2003 Kelly Robinson Canton
2003 Ryan White Natick
2002 Jonathan Goscinak Charlestown
2002 Kevin Dodier Amesbury
2002 Jarrod O'Donell Triboro
2001 Alex Verhave Wellesley
2001 David St. Lawrence Holyoke
2001 Kerry Nugent Andover
2000 Steven Landry Bellingham
2000 Kristin Kumor Needham
2000 Michael Corcoran Wilmington
1999 Michael Fantasia Burlington
1999 Daniel Molinari Hyannis
1999 Daniel Tobin Lowell
1998 Nicholas Baldassari Westwood
1998 Melissa Dolan Marlborough
1998 Mark Haley Belmont
1997 Matthew Rinaldi W. Boylston
1997 James Bernhard Acton
1997 Nicolas Constantino Walpole
1996 Craig Giansiracusa Saugus
1996 Anthony Costa Swansea
1996 Scott Quinlan Amherst