skip navigation

2019 Mass Hockey Annual Meeting Election Results

By Mass Hockey, 06/17/19, 4:30PM EDT


This past weekend Massachusetts Hockey hosted its 45th Annual Meeting, celebrating our volunteers, a number of new initiatives and adding new inductees to the Hall of Fame.

The business meeting concluded the weekend on Sunday morning. This included elections to multiple positions within Massachusetts Hockey, including president.

For the past four years (two election terms) John Tobin has served as president of Massachusetts Hockey, in accordance with the bylaws his term has come to a close.

For the next term, Bob Joyce has been elected as the new president of Massachusetts Hockey by the Board of Directors.

Joyce is a USA Hockey Level 4 Certified Coach, who has been coaching and volunteering for numerous hockey organizations for over 20 years. Even though his youngest has graduated into collegiate hockey, he continues to assist on and off the ice.

"With the Bruins deep playoff run to the Stanley Cup Final this season energizing fans across Massachusetts, we can expect a greater interest in youth hockey and a bump in our registration levels this fall.  We need to focus our time effort and energy to growing the game, bringing new players and families into what is the greatest sport out there," said Joyce.
During the past 20 years, in addition to coaching multiple teams a season for his 4 kids for many years, he has held a variety of board positions with Newton Youth Hockey, the Boston Junior Eagles and Massachusetts Hockey, which provided him with a well-rounded basis.

"I am both humbled and honored to have the opportunity to work with the great volunteers and staff of Mass Hockey.  I want to continue to grow the game and assist our Mass Hockey players and organizations at the state and national levels." said Joyce.

Below is a complete list of the elected positions:

  • President - Bob Joyce
  • 1st Vice President - Jeff Brown
  • 2nd Vice President - Christine Mayer
  • 3rd Vice President - Steve Rizzo
  • 4th Vice President - Phil Zona
  • 5th Vice President - Jay O'Neil
  • Treasurer - Greg Sophis
  • Secretary - Tim McMahon
  • At Large on Executive Board - Chip Bradbury and David Young
  • USA Hockey Director - Jim Maimone

We will post a separate wrap up once it is completed with a summary on Massachusetts Hockey Legislative Proposals and USA Hockey Legislative Proposals.

New Massachusetts Hockey President Bob Joyce.