skip navigation

2018 Annual Meeting Complete

By Mass Hockey, 06/21/18, 11:30PM EDT


Wrap up for this season's Mass Hockey Annual Meeting

This past weekend Massachusetts Hockey hosted its 44th Annual Meeting, celebrating our volunteers, a number of new initiatives and adding new inductees to the Hall of Fame.

Saturday morning during the general session Massachusetts Hockey Board of Directors were able to hear from Massachusetts Hockey President John Tobin and USA Hockey President Jim Smith.

USA Hockey Regional Manager Roger Grillo spoke about how the American Development Model is expanding into programs across Massachusetts. He highlighted the opportunities for training on-site for all programs.

The Boston Bruins were represented by Mike Dargin, manager of youth hockey development. He showed how the Bruins are teaming with Massachusetts Hockey to promote the license plate program, the Bruins Academy Learn to Play Hockey Program and TD Bank Mini 1-on-1.

With both Massachusetts Hockey Goaltending Coordinators Brian Ecklund and Brian Robinson away attending the USA Hockey Goaltending Summit, DJ Briggs (District 6 Registrar and Goaltending Committee Liaison) stepped up to bring across the goaltending message to the board.

Safety Committee Chair Tom Smith and Director at Large Dr. Alan Ashare presented about the committee’s work this past season. Also, they presented more information on Saturday evening’s award winner Dr. Ann Mckee for the Dr. Alan Ashare Safety Award. For more information on her work, please see the materials listed below. 

Adaptive Hockey Committee Chair Nick McCummings presented the evolution of Disabled Hockey over the past three years and what is planned for the future.

Massachusetts Hockey Program Support Coordinator Mike DiOrio presented to the board what he currently has accomplished and the plans for the next season.

The bid process for the 2018-2019 Massachusetts Hockey State Championships took place during the general meeting. Dates and locations will be announced at a later date pending final review from the tournament committee. During the 2017-2018 season, Massachusetts Hockey hosted 47 tournaments and will increase to 49 tournaments this upcoming season.

At the Service Award Luncheon, Massachusetts Hockey presented awards to see a list of the service award winners, see below.

During the afternoon session, the group broke into smaller topic sessions including standout program Amherst Hockey Association, Tournaments, Massachusetts Hockey Legislative Proposals, Financials/Budget and CPR/First Aid.

In the evening on Saturday, the Annual Awards and Hall of Fame ceremony took place. For more information on the evening, please click here.

The business meeting concluded the weekend on Sunday morning.

Massachusetts Hockey President John Tobin and Executive Director Kevin Kavanagh focused their reports on the successes of Massachusetts Hockey over the past season and how to keep growing the game.

The following positions were elected to Massachusetts Hockey: 

At Large to E-Board positions Tim McMahon and Dave Young.

USA Hockey Directors Steve Rizzo and Christine Mayer

Lastly, the Legislative Proposals decisions were put to a vote. Click here to see the proposals.

We will post a separate wrap up once it is completed with a summary on Massachusetts Hockey Legislative Proposals and USA Hockey Legislative Proposals.

To see the Massachusetts Hockey Committee Reports, click here.


2018 Disabled Hockey Slideshow:

I Can't Live Like That Anymore:

Video by Daniel Carcillo posted on Players Tribune.

Former NHL Pittsburgh Penguins Kevin Stevens Battle to Stay Clean:

2018 Dr. Alan Ashare Safety Award Winner: