skip navigation

2017 Massachusetts Hockey Annual Meeting & Hall of Fame Ceremony

By Mass Hockey, 06/21/17, 5:00PM EDT


See all the happenings of the Annual Meeting weekend

This past weekend Massachusetts Hockey hosted its 43rd Annual Meeting, celebrating our volunteers, a number of new initiatives and adding nine (9) inductees to the Hall of Fame.

Saturday morning during the general session Massachusetts Hockey Board of Directors were able to hear from USA Hockey Chairman of the Board Ron DeGregorio, USA Hockey Executive Director Pat Kelleher and USA Hockey Vice President/International Council Gavin Regan.

USA Hockey Regional Manager Roger Grillo spoke about how the American Development Model is expanding into programs across Massachusetts. He highlighted the opportunities for training on-site for all programs.

The Boston Bruins were represented by Julie Wardwell, manager of youth hockey development. He showed how the Bruins are teaming with Massachusetts Hockey to promote the license plate program, the Little Bruins Learn to Play Hockey Program, TD Bank Mini 1-on-1 and this summer’s street hockey training.

The Player Development staff was well represented by hearing from Massachusetts Hockey 3rd Vice President Don Derosia, Boys Player Development Coordinator Paul Pearl, Girls Player Development Coordinator Ed Bourget and Massachusetts Hockey Goalie Development Coordinator Brian Daccord.

The bid process for the 2017-2018 Massachusetts Hockey State Championships took place during the general meeting. Dates and locations will be announced at a later date pending final review from the tournament committee. During the 2016-2017 season, Massachusetts Hockey hosted 47 tournaments and will increase to 49 tournaments this upcoming season.

The highlight of the general meeting on Saturday morning was a presentation from a Head of the Game Resident Nurse and Baseline Test Administrator Jeannine Donato. She impressed the board on concussion and baseline testing after watching her children suffered concussions. 

Also, she was awarded the Dr. Alan Ashare Safety Award from Massachusetts Hockey later that evening. For more information on her presentation, click here

At the Service Award Luncheon, Massachusetts Hockey presented awards in Excellence in Growth to three programs: Cape Cod Canal Youth Hockey, Norwood Youth Hockey and Somerville Youth Hockey. To see a list of the service award winners, see below.

During the afternoon session, the group broke into smaller topic sessions including standout program Waltham Youth Hockey, Tournaments, USA Hockey Rules, Massachusetts Hockey Legislative Proposals and CPR/First Aid.

In the evening on Saturday, Master of Ceremonies retired National Hockey League (NHL) player PJ Stock presented their Annual Awards and inducted nine (9) new members into the Hall of Fame.

The Milt Kauffman Award was presented to James Tinirella. This award is presented annually to an individual who has demonstrated a dedication and commitment to youth hockey in Massachusetts through her officiating work.

Dave Wells (Taunton Brewins) was given the Ron and Jo Difilippo Registrar Award. The award is presented annually to a registrar in Massachusetts Hockey who has shown the dedication and commitment to the position that was embodied for many years by Ron and Jo Difilippo.

The Duke Kumpel Special Achievement Award was presented to Buddy LaFleur (District 6 Director). The award is presented annually to a member who has taken a leadership role in advancing Massachusetts Hockey.

Tim McMahon (District 6 Director) and Dave Moses (District 3 Director) were presented with the Massachusetts Hockey President’s Award. The award is presented annually by the Massachusetts Hockey president to an individual whose efforts are distinguished in the Massachusetts Hockey organization.

Massachusetts Hockey Hall of Fame inductees included: Hockey East Commissioner Joe Bertagna (All-Around), retired professional and Olympic hockey player Paul Hurley (Player), retired professional and Olympic hockey player Shawn McEachern (Player), one of the founding members of Massachusetts Hockey Bernie Michals (Builder) and professional hockey coach Paul Vincent (Coach). 

Also, inducted into the Hall of Fame posthumously were: John Garrison (U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Collegiate and Olympic Ice Hockey Player and Coach), Bruce Mather (U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Collegiate and Olympic Ice Hockey Player), Fred Moseley (U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Collegiate and Olympic Ice Hockey Player) and Alfred Winsor (U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Collegiate and Olympic Ice Hockey Player).

Other notables attending the event included: Dr. Alan Ashare (Massachusetts Hockey Hall of Fame Member), USA Hockey Chairman of the Board Ron DeGregorio, Ron DiFilippo (HOF), Harvard Men’s Ice Hockey Head Coach Ted Donato (HOF), Gary Eggleston (HOF), Retired NHL Official Paul Stewart (HOF), Retired Collegiate Ice Hockey Coach Jack Parker (HOF), Tim Sheehy (HOF), USA Hockey Executive Director Pat Kelleher, USA Hockey Vice President/International Council Gavin Regan, Dan Kelleher (HOF), Bill Riley (HOF), Steve Palmacci (HOF), Hockey East Associate Commissioner Kathy Winters, Allen Wright (HOF) and Barbara Wright (HOF).

The business meeting concluded the weekend on Sunday morning.

Massachusetts Hockey President John Tobin and Executive Director Kevin Kavanagh focused their reports on the successes of Massachusetts Hockey over the past season and how to keep growing the game.

The following positions were elected to Massachusetts Hockey: President John Tobin (Incumbent), 1st Vice President Mike Bonish (Incumbent), 2nd Vice President Christine Mayer (Incumbent), 3rd Vice President Don Derosia (Incumbent), 4th Vice President Phil Zona (Incumbent), 5th Vice President Jay O’Neil (Incumbent), Treasurer Greg Sophis (Incumbent), USA Hockey Director Tom McGrath (Incumbent), Secretary Bob Joyce and At Large to E-Board positions Tom McGrath (Incumbent) and Dave Moses.

Lastly, the Legislative Proposals decisions were put to a vote. Click here to see the final results of the proposals.

To see the Massachusetts Hockey Committee Reports, click here.

A Head of the Game

A Head of the Game Concussion in Sports.

Legislative Proposals Summary

See here for the Massachusetts Hockey Legislative Proposals Summary and Committee Reports.