skip navigation

2020 USA Hockey Annual Congress Wrap

By Mass. Hockey, 06/18/20, 1:00PM EDT


Congrats to Hank Manz & Dave Andrews on their awards!

USA Hockey recently concluded a two-week virtual Annual Congress this past Saturday, highlighting the 2019-20 season, and where we go from here (the future definitely looks bright)

Here are are few highlights about our Massachusetts Hockey players, coaches, officials and volunteers. Congratulations to everyone!

  • John Tobin (Charlestown), our former president and current director at large, was elected vice president and chair of the legal council.
  • Affirmed Meghan Duggan (Danvers) as one of the athlete directors.
  • Affirmed Bob DeGregorio (Winthrop) as NCAA directors.
  • Elected Joe Bertagna (Gloucester) as director emeritus & he received his 15-year service award.
  • Risk Manager Steve Fitzgerald (Walpole) received his 10-year service award.

Plus, there were TWO USA Hockey Award Winners from Massachusetts. Articles & video about the award winners are listed below.

Do-it-All Volunteer Hank Manz Wins Wm. Thayer Tutt Award

Hank Manz has worked tirelessly for the last three decades to make sure that the Lexington-Bedford Youth Hockey program’s in-house league is all about having fun.. Manz and his tireless efforts earned the Lexington, Massachusetts, native the Wm. Thayer Tutt Award.


Outgoing AHL President Dave Andrews Wins Distinguished Achievement Award

Dave Andrews has played a significant role in helping advance hockey in the United States. Because of his efforts, Andrews, the longtime president and chief executive officer of the American Hockey League, has been named the recipient of USA Hockey’s Distinguished Achievement Award this year.