skip navigation

2019 Massachusetts Hockey Annual Meeting Wrap Up

By Mass Hockey, 06/20/19, 5:00PM EDT


This past weekend Massachusetts Hockey hosted its 45th Annual Meeting, celebrating our volunteers, a number of new initiatives and adding new inductees to the Hall of Fame.

Saturday morning during the general session Massachusetts Hockey Board of Directors were able to hear from Massachusetts Hockey President John Tobin and USA Hockey Chairman of the Board Ron DeGregorio.

USA Hockey Regional Manager Roger Grillo spoke about how the American Development Model is expanding into programs across Massachusetts. He highlighted the opportunities for training on-site for all programs.

USA Hockey Program Services Manager Andy Gibson spoke with Massachusetts Hockey about the increasing growth in the state and how to maximize that growth at the program level.

Safety Committee Chair Tom Smith and Director at Large Dr. Alan Ashare were able to introduce the 2019 Dr. Alan Ashare Safety Award honoree, 2-time Stanley Cup Champion Kevin Stevens. For more information on his work, please see the materials listed below. 

Massachusetts Hockey Program Support Coordinator Mike DiOrio presented to the board what Massachusetts Hockey has currently accomplished  with a large push of growth initiatives across the state.

The bid process for the 2019-2020 Massachusetts Hockey State Championships took place during the general meeting. Dates and locations will be announced at a later date pending final review from the tournament committee.

At the Service Award Luncheon, Massachusetts Hockey presented awards to see a list of the service award winners, see below.

During the afternoon session, the group broke into smaller topic sessions including Meet the Candidates, Tournaments, Massachusetts Hockey Legislative Proposals, USA Hockey Rules, Financials/Budget and CPR/First Aid.

In the evening on Saturday, the Annual Awards and Hall of Fame ceremony took place. For more information on the evening, please click here.

The business meeting concluded the weekend on Sunday morning.

Massachusetts Hockey President John Tobin and Executive Director Kevin Kavanagh focused their reports on the successes of Massachusetts Hockey over the past season and how to keep growing the game.

Below is a complete list of the elected positions:

  • President - Bob Joyce
  • 1st Vice President - Jeff Brown
  • 2nd Vice President - Christine Mayer
  • 3rd Vice President - Steve Rizzo
  • 4th Vice President - Phil Zona
  • 5th Vice President - Jay O'Neil
  • Treasurer - Greg Sophis
  • Secretary - Tim McMahon
  • At Large on Executive Board - Chip Bradbury and David Young
  • USA Hockey Director - Jim Maimone

Lastly, the Legislative Proposals decisions were put to a vote. Click here to see the proposals.

We will post a separate wrap up once it is completed with a summary on Massachusetts Hockey Legislative Proposals.

To see the Massachusetts Hockey Committee Reports, click here.

New Massachusetts Hockey President Bob Joyce.

2019 Dr. Alan Ashare Safety Award Winner Kevin Stevens