skip navigation

2019 Massachusetts Hockey Annual Awardees

By Mass Hockey, 05/25/19, 12:15PM EDT


Massachusetts Hockey is proud to announce who will be receiving awards at our 2019 Annual Awards & Hall of Fame event.

The winners include:

  • Two-time Stanley Cup winner Kevin Stevens - Dr. Alan Ashare Safety Award
  • Massachusetts Hockey Official Bryan Harrington - Milt Kaufman Award
  • North Central Mass Youth Hockey (NCMYH) Registrar Ryan McCrillis - Ron & Jo DiFilippo Award 
  • Adaptive Hockey Committee Chair Nick McCummings - Duke Kumpel Special Achievement Award
  • District 1 & 10 Registrar & Tournament Coordinator Peter Giuliano - Massachusetts Hockey President's Award

For more information on the award winners, please review the descriptions below.

For the event, the Master of Ceremonies will be our own Hall of Fame member and Hockey East Commissioner Joe Bertagna.

Plus, we will be honoring the 2019 Hall of Fame class.

This class includes: long time dedicated Massachusetts Hockey volunteer Nick Demarco (Builder), retired Norwich coach Michael H. McShane, former player and current Boston Bruins general manager Don Sweeney and retired UNH coach Dick Umile.

Also, this class includes five posthumous inductees: George V. BrownJohn P. ChaseJames "Jim" H. FullertonVictor "Vic" Heyliger and Edward "Eddie" W. Shore.

For more information on the Hall of Fame Inductees click here.

Date/Location: Saturday, June 15, 2019 at hotel1620 Plymouth Harbor, 180 Water St, Plymouth, MA 02360.

Time: Cocktail Reception begins at 5 p.m.; Sit-down at 6 p.m. - Evening should conclude by 10 p.m.
Cost: $75 per ticket/$750 per 10 tickets (full table)

If you are interested in purchasing tickets and attending, please email us at and/or call at (781) 664-2700 x102. Deadline to purchase tickets is Friday, June 7, 2019.

Ron & Jo DiFilippo Registrar Award

Ryan McCrillis

Ryan has worked very hard to help North Central Mass Youth Hockey (NCMYH) build its program into a successful program. Youth hockey in their area took a big hit a few years ago three programs merged together, Gardner, Winchendon and Ash/West (Ashburnham & Westminster) to combat that issue.  Ryan has worked tirelessly to make sure NCMYH is always a success.

Milt Kaufman Award

Bryan Harrington

Bryan started in 2010 as an instructor in MA Officials Level 1 class and quickly became lead instructor. Then, he became the seminar coordinator and took the lead at the Level 3 class. While he continues to manage the MA Officials website and social media, he has become more involved in running seminars at all levels and evaluating officials. Now, he is the first face officials see at each seminar, administers the closed-book test, and sends out all communications to officials. Bryan’s contributions have been invaluable to the Massachusetts officiating community.

Duke Kumpel Special Achievement Award

Nick McCummings

Nick is extremely passionate and driven about his role as Mass Hockey Adaptive Hockey Committee Chair. He coaches the Boston Shamrocks Sled Hockey Team and hosts clinics and practices for sled, blind, and street hockey teams. Nick also assists other adaptive hockey programs in Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut. He serves on the USA Hockey Adaptive Hockey Committee and was honored at the 2018 Para Sport Boston Spring Celebration.

Dr. Alan Ashare Safety Award

Kevin Stevens

Pembroke native Kevin Stevens starred at Boston College before playing in the 1988 Olympics and winning two Stanley Cups with the Pittsburgh Penguins in the 1990s. One of the best power forwards of the game, Stevens' career ended in a tragic on-ice injury caused permanent damage to the frontal lobe of his brain. Kevin has battled substance abuse since the injury, and has since shared his story to spread awareness and reduce the stigma surrounding addiction and mental illness. Kevin loves helping others make their own comeback.

Massachusetts Hockey President's Award

Peter Giuliano

Peter has been playing or volunteering in hockey since 1973. He has coached for more than 10 years with Malden/East Boston and the Boston Shamrocks. In 2017-18, Peter took on the role of Registrar for District 1 and District 10. In 2018-19, he volunteered to be the State Tournament Director, overseeing 48 tournaments, providing assistance for hosts, reviewing rosters, rules and regulations, and more. Peter is a reliable, trustworthy, fair-minded friend of Mass Hockey.